We Start Speech Therapy

It is a mother’s job to worry right? I always worry that somewhere, something will be missed. Something will cause a roadblock for the girl’s and their ability to succeed; succeed being a very loose term in this context. Something, that, will point at me, as not succeeding as a mother. 

I am very pro-active, but I am still learning, and don’t want my lack of understanding or knowledge to get in the way of helping the girls adapt into the world around them. I wish, just for a day, I could hear in their world, to grasp their experience. I will never fully understand, but I will always try! I will always support them! I will always do everything I can, to make sure they have everything they need, from people who are trained to give them the best, outside of mommy!  

We live in a very oral world, and they need to be equip to function as best as possible. One of the support systems that is in place, is speech therapy. 

 

‘A’ had her initial speech therapy session a week ago. She has established a wonderful relationship with the speech therapist! The best part is, A never realized so much, that she was being evaluated. The speech therapist came into the home, and used A’s natural environment to communicate. Sharing a book, playing games, building with blocks – all which were throughly enjoyed! 

The results, A’s language development is above average. She has an above average vocabulary and sentence structure and most of her enunciations, were on target if not above average. So, now I know that her language development is appropriate (and even advanced) for a 2.5 year old, I can rest a bit at ease. I have always known she is advanced with her amazing knowledge and fast learning abilities, knowing things that are taught in Pre-K and Kindergarten, but I was always unsure with the speech and language, especially having a loss and not being aided until a few months ago.  

So, what is speech going to do for us. Well, thankfully they are not going to close the book! The speech therapist will continue to be engaged in A’s speech and language development and making sure that she maintains, provide feedback for her audiologist to know her hearing aids and/or level of loss are not changing, and working on volume level! 

4 thoughts on “We Start Speech Therapy

  1. My hard of hearing daughter (who wasn’t identified/diagnosed until she was almost four years old and she just turned five!) had speech therapy before we realized she was hard of hearing. I remember being so frustrated that she wasn’t improving! But when we found out, then everything made sense. Before her hearing aids, no one understood what she was saying and now she’s telling stories and is more conversational. She’s even reading! When she first got her aids, we were doing “Auditory Verbal Therapy”. And now we’re learning ASL. But I do wonder about getting back into Speech Therapy. I don’t know if her remarks about being a “Pwincess” and a little lisp are typical of her age, or related to her hearing. What do you think? (PS–I liked your comment about hearing level!)

  2. Thanks for visiting jjleepainter. Since A’s initial speech therapy, we have learned more about the differences in her speech, versus what is typical for her age development. The feedback from the speech therapist has been helpful at providing us more understanding and allowing us to best support her.
    That is wonderful that she is learning to read! I am a very strong advocate for literature, and will be sharing posts about the various literary activities we do that are fun, educational, and helpful for continued speech and language development.
    I am still all learning, but I would suggest that it doesn’t hurt to have her speech and language re-evaluated. Even if there are little things that are different due to her loss that can be fine tuned with speech therapy.

  3. Good for you two, advocating for your children! We have two children (out of four) who were born with moderate, high-frequency loss and who received hearing aids as infants (around 4.5 months of age). One is 16 and the other is 5 years old now. What I’ve found is that vocabulary is one of our biggest challenges. Their ability to pick up information ‘incidentally’ is compromised in part because of their hearing loss and their natural tendency to focus on what is in front of them. So I would encourage those with children who are hard-of-hearing, even if their speech is clear or on track (which has been the case with both my kiddos),be aware of vocabulary issues, for instance, synonyms like T.V. and television, supermarket/grocery store/albertson’s, etc. We’re aware of this, and there are still times when we find instances like this. Keep your sense of humor and allow yourself plenty of humor, grace and forgiveness. It’s not like we have access to the dictionaries in their brains. 🙂

I would love to hear from you! All comments welcomed.

